The South African Women in Science Awards (SAWiSA), an annual countrywide celebration of women in science and technology, led by the Department of Science and Technology (DST), will take place on 23 August in Limpopo. The DST has been hosting SAWiSA since 2003.

The awards profile women scientists and researchers who serve as role models for younger women, and encourage and reward younger women who are starting their careers as researchers and scientists.

The theme for the 2018 SAWiSA event is “100 Years of Mama Albertina Sisulu: Women United in Moving South Africa Forward”.

Prof. Azwihangwisi Helen Mavhandu-Mudzusi – Last year’s winners included a number of amazing women scooping top honours in the humanities and social science and the natural science categories. Prof Azwihangwisi Helen Mavhandu-Mudzusi, won the Humanities and Social sciences category.

Professor Mavhandu-Mudzusi – is currently a full Professor in the Department of Health Studies and the Chairperson of the Research Ethics Committee of the College of Human Sciences at the University of South Africa (UNISA). Prof. Mavhandu-Mudzusi holds a PhD in Public Administration from the University of Venda.

Professor Colleen Downs – Winning the natural sciences category was Professor Colleen Downs. She is currently a full professor of Zoology in the School of Life Sciences, and a University Fellow at the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN), Pietermaritzburg campus.

Professor Tricia Naicker – The women in science awards also celebrate rising stars in science, technology and innovation like Professor Tricia Naicker. She is University of KwaZulu Natal’s youngest Associate Professor in the College of Health Sciences and Academic Leader (HOD) for the Discipline of Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Miss Keneilwe Hlahane – Last year Keneilwe Hlahane won the DST Fellowship in the Masters’ category. obtained her BSc Geology degree from the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN).  Miss Hlahane further went on to complete a BSc Honors degree in Geographic Information Systems (GIS) at the University of Cape Town (UCT) and is currently enrolled as a Masters student in GIS and Remote Sensing at the same university.

Read more…